
SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA 
COUNTY OF RIVERSIDE 

 

Temporary Emergency Felony and 
Misdemeanor Bail Schedule 

 

 

Note: This bail schedule was adopted in response to the recommendation of March 21, 
2020 of Chief Justice of the California Supreme Court Tani Cantil-Sakauye, in which 
she recommended that individual counties: 

 
"Revise, on an emergency basis, the countywide bail schedule to lower bail amounts 
significantly for the duration of the coronavirus emergency, including lowering the bail 
amount to $0 for many lower level offenses – for all misdemeanors except for those 
listed in Penal Code section 1270.1 and for lower-level felonies. This will result in fewer 
individuals in county jails thus alleviating some of the pressures for arraignments within 
48 hours and preliminary hearings within 10 days." 

 

. 

 
Approved by the 

Judges of the Riverside County Superior Court 

March 27, 2020 

 

Effective Date: March 27, 2020, and will 

remain effective until further notice. 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA 
COUNTY OF RIVERSIDE 

 
Felony and Misdemeanor Bail Schedule 

 
 

This Bail Schedule is adopted by the Superior Court of California, County of 

Riverside pursuant to Section 1269b(c) of the Penal Code and is to be utilized pursuant 

to Section 1268 et seq. of the Penal Code in setting bail for the release of persons 

arrested on charges, without warrant, for the alleged commission of any bailable 

offense, and for Writs of Habeas Corpus. 

This Bail Schedule consists of two sections: (A) Bail for Felonies, and (B) Bail for 

Misdemeanors. 
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SECTION A: FELONY BAIL SCHEDULE 

PART 1: RULES 
 
 

 
A. Bail for felony crimes will be set as follows: 

 
0. ‘$0 bail’ means that bail is not required in lieu of a signed written citation to 

appear.  Failure to sign a cite to appear will result in bail being set pursuant 
to the court’s non-emergency bail schedule. 

1. The amount set in the approved arrest warrant;  
2. The amount set pursuant to 1269c P.C. (See Rule 6(A) herein); 
3. The amount set at a hearing in court; and / or 
4. The amount set through use of this Bail Schedule. 

 
B. The Felony Bail Schedule consists of four parts: 

 

0. The “Rules”; 
1. The “General Bail Amounts Chart”; 
2. The “Special Bail Amounts”; and 
3. The “Bail Amounts for Enhancements.” 

 
C. Review all Rules. Review the “General Bail Amounts Chart” section. Review the 

“Special Bail Amounts” section. If the bail amount is different, the higher amount 
applies. 

 
D. To calculate bail on any one case, take the count which imposes the longest term 

of incarceration, find the bail amount from the “General Bail Amounts Chart” 
section. Check the “Special Bail Amounts” section. If there is a conflict, use the 
larger sum. Next, add bail for all enhancements. The calculation is per case. 
For example, if a person has three cases and the bail is $5,000 on one case, 
$75,000 on another case, and $25,000 on a third case, then the person must 
post three separate bonds, one for each case, in order to be released. 

 
 

 

Murder with special circumstances will not be admitted to bail if proof of guilt is evident 
or the presumption great. 

RULE 1: Setting Bail 

RULE 2: No Bail 
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The following felony offenses will have a bail amount equal to the substantive offense, 
which was the object of the conspiracy, solicitation or attempt. 

 
Section 182 P.C. (Conspiracy) 
Section 653(F) P.C. (Solicitation) 
Section 664 P.C. (Attempt) 

Note: 182/187 PC: The bail is $1 million, even if special circumstances are alleged. 

Note: 32 PC: The bail is half the amount for the substantive crime, but no less than 
10,000. 

 
 

 

A. Multiple Counts: 
 

1. For each separate crime arising out of the same set of circumstances, the 
single highest bail plus all applicable enhancements shall apply. 

 
2. If the charges could be filed as separate cases, separate bail amounts apply 

and those amounts are to be added together to calculate the appropriate bail 
for the case filed. 

 
B. Multiple Cases: Calculate the bail for each case separately. A separate bail is 

required for each separate case. 
 

C. Examples: 
 

1. Two Separate Complaints Filed: Defendant commits two robberies on two 
separate dates (two separate sets of circumstances) – the applicable bail 
amount for each of the robbery complaints would be calculated. These are 
two separate cases and two separate bail bonds are required. 

 
2. One Complaint Filed: Defendant assaults one victim and later that day 

assaults a second unrelated victim (two separate sets of circumstances). 
The applicable bail amount for each incident is calculated. Then the two 
amounts are added together to determine the amount of bail. 

 
3. One Complaint Filed: Defendant robs a pizza store and takes money from 

the register and from a customer’s wallet. The bail is the amount for the most 
serious criminal charge plus bail for any enhancements. 

RULE 3: Attempts, Etc. 

RULE 4: Multiple Counts, Multiple Cases 
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A. Enhancements: 
 

Where a felony offense has been committed and it is alleged in the Complaint or 
Information, or it is evident from other information made available to the Court, 
that one or more punishment enhancements are applicable, the bail amount 
specifically described for each applicable enhancement shall be added 
cumulatively to the bail set forth for the specified offense. In the event that bail for 
the specified offense is $0, the amount of bail for any enhancement is still to be 
added to calculate the total amount of bail. (Example: If bail for a felony violation 
of Penal Code section 245(a)(1) is now set at $0, and if there is an enhancement 
alleged pursuant to Penal Code section 12022.7, then the total bail will be 
$40,000: $0 for the substantive offense + $40,0000 for the enhancement = 
$40,0000.). See Part 4, Bail Amounts for Enhancements to Felonies. For unlisted 
enhancements, see Part 2, The General Bail Amounts Chart. 

 
B. Strikes: 

 
Where it is alleged in the Complaint or Information, or it is evident from other 
information made available to the Court, that there is a strike prior within the 
meaning of Penal Code Sections 667 and 1170.12 the additional bail shall be 
calculated as follows: 

 
(1)(a) If the defendant has previously been convicted of one strike, the bail is 

enhanced by $50,000. 
(b) If the defendant has previously been convicted of two or more strikes, the 

bail is enhanced by $50,000 per strike, if the current crime is a non- 
serious and non-violent crime. 

(c) If the defendant has previously been convicted of two or more strikes, 
and the current crime is non- serious and non-violent, and, if any of the 
exceptions contained in section 667(e)(C)(2)(i-iv) apply, then the total bail 
is $1,000,000. 

 
(2) If the defendant has previously been convicted of two or more serious or 

violent felonies and the current crime is a serious or violent felony, then the 
total bail is $1,000,000. 

 
 

 

A. Bail Increase (1269c P.C.) 
 

In the event that law enforcement has reasonable cause to believe that 
the amount of bail set forth in the Bail Schedule is insufficient, the 
arresting officer shall provide the booking officer at the custodial jail a copy 
of a 1269c P.C. declaration requesting an order setting higher bail. Once a 

RULE 5: Enhancements / Strikes 

RULE 6: Bail Increase / Source of Bail Funds 
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copy of the 1269c P.C. form has been given to the booking officer, no one 
shall release the defendant except at the higher requested bail. The 
arresting officer then has eight (8) hours to obtain Magistrate approval. If 
no Magistrate approved 1269c form is provided to the booking officer 
within eight (8) hours of the initial booking, then the defendant may be 
released at the amount of bail as indicated by the Bail Schedule. Any 
Magistrate approved 1269c form must be filed with the Complaint. 

 
B. Source of Bail Funds (1275.1 P.C.) 

 
In the event that law enforcement has reasonable cause to believe that 
bail has been or may be obtained by felonious means, the arresting officer 
shall provide the booking officer at the custodial jail a copy of a declaration 
requesting an order pursuant to Section 1275.1 P.C. Once a copy of the 
1275.1 P.C. form has been given to the booking officer, no one may 
release the defendant. The arresting officer has twenty-four (24) hours to 
obtain Magistrate approval. If a Magistrate approves the 1275.1 P.C. 
application, the defendant may not be released except upon the order of a 
Judge after a noticed hearing in Court. If no Magistrate approved 1275.1 
P.C. form is provided to the booking officer within twenty-four (24) hours of 
the initial booking, then the defendant may be released upon whatever bail 
is set. Any Magistrate approved 1275.1 P.C. form must be filed with the 
Complaint or filed with the court if the complaint has already been filed. 

 
 

 

Probation: 
 

In the absence of a specific court order, the amount of bail on a violation 
of felony probation shall be $50,000. In the absence of a specific court 
order, the amount of bail on a violation of misdemeanor probation shall 
be $0 $5,000. 

 
Mandatory Supervision: 

 
In the absence of a specific court order, the amount of bail on a violation 
of mandatory supervision shall be $100,000. 

 
 

 

If the alleged economic loss is greater than the bail schedule, the bail shall be the 
amount of the loss, rounded to the next higher thousand-dollar level; i.e., if the 
economic loss is $58,423, the bail is $59,000. 

RULE 7: Violation of Probation / Mandatory Supervision 

RULE 8: Economic Loss 
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PART 2: GENERAL BAIL AMOUNTS CHART FOR FELONIES 
 
 

 
 

PART 3: SPECIAL BAIL AMOUNTS FOR FELONIES 

 
PENAL CODE 

SECTION DESCRIPTION OF VIOLATION AMOUNT OF BAIL 

186.22(a) GANG MEMBERSHIP …………………………………. $ 20,000 

217.1(a) ASSAULT ON PRESIDENT OR 
OTHER GOVERNMENT OFFICIAL …………………. 

 

 $ 100,000 

219.1 THROWING MISSILE AT VEHICLE OR COMMON 
CARRIER ……………………………………………….. 

 

 $ 50,000 

243(c) BATTERY ON A PEACE OFFICER …………………. $ 20,000 

243.7 BATTERY AGAINST JUROR ………………………… $ 50,000 

273d INFLICT CORPORAL INJURY CHILD 
(CHILD BEATING)……………………………………… 

 

 $ 50,000 
Plus $15,000 per 
additional victim 

273.5 INFLICT INJURY ON SPOUSE OR COHABITANT… $ 50,000 
 …with a prior ……………………………………………. $ 75,000 

 Maximum Incarceration in State Prison Bail 

A. 3 years or less $ 0 
            $10,000 

B. 4 years $ 0 
            $25,000 

 5 years $30,000 
 6 years $35,000 

C. 7 years $50,000 
 8 years $55,000 
 9 years $60,000 

D. 10 years $75,000 
 11 years $80,000 
 12 years $85,000 

E. 13 years $150,000 
 14 years $200,000 
 15 years $250,000 
 16 years or more, but less than life $500,000 

F. Life $1,000,000 

G. LWOP or DP No Bail 
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278.5 CHILD CUSTODY KIDNAPPING ……………………... $ 20,000 

288a(b) ORAL COPULATION …………………………………… $ 20,000 

422 TERRORIST THREATS ……………………………….. $ 20,000 

646.9 WILLFULLY, MALICIOUSLY, REPEATEDLY 
FOLLOW OR WILLFULLY HARASS ANOTHER 
PERSON ……. 

 

 $ 50,000 

4500 ASSAULT BY LIFE TERM PRISONER……………….. NO BAIL 

4530 ESCAPE BY PRISON INMATE ……………………….. NO BAIL 

4532-4550 ESCAPE (Felony)….………………………………… $ 20,000 

 

HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE 

SECTION DESCRIPTION OF VIOLATION AMOUNT OF BAIL 

11351 / POSSESSION FOR SALE, SALES, 
 

11351.5 / TRANSPORTATION 
11352  

 less than one ounce [28.5 grams]……………………… $               0 
$ 30,000 

 1 ounce …………………………………………………… $               0 
$ 50,000 

 ½ pound [8 oz.]…………………………………………... $ 100,000 
 1 pound [454 grams][16 oz.]……………………………. $ 150,000 
 over 1 kilogram [2.2 lbs.]………………………………... $ 200,000 
 over 4 kilograms [8.8 lbs.]………………………………. $ 250,000 
 over 10 kilograms [22 lbs.]……………………………… $ 500,000 

 over 20 kilograms [44 lbs.]……………………………… $ 1,000,000 

11370.1 POSSESSION OF SPECIFIED NARCOTICS WHILE 
 

 ARMED WITH A FIREARM …………………………… $ 75,000 
11378 /   

11378.5 / POSSESSION FOR SALE, SALES,  

11379 / TRANSPORTATION  

11379.5   

 less than one ounce [28.5 grams]……………………… $               0 
$ 30,000 

 1 ounce …………………………………………………… $               0 
$ 50,000 

 ½ pound [8 oz.]…………………………………………... $ 100,000 
 1 pound [454 grams][16 oz.]……………………………. $ 150,000 
 over 1 kilogram [2.2 lbs.] or 30 liters…………………... $ 200,000 
 over 4 kilograms [8.8 lbs.] or 100 liters………………... $ 250,000 
 over 10 kilograms [22 lbs.] or 200 liters ………………. $ 500,000 
 over 20 kilograms [44 lbs.] or 400 liters ………………. $ 1,000,000 
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11359 / POSSESSION FOR SALE OR SALE OR  

11360 TRANSPORTATION OF 
MARIJUANA…………………. 

$               0 
$ 20,000 

 over 25 pounds ………………………………………….. $ 25,000 
 over 100 pounds…………………………………………. $ 50,000 

 over 1000 pounds ………………………………………. $ 250,000 

11383 POSSESSION OF PRECURSORS WITH INTENT 
 

 TO MANUFACTURE PCP OR  

 METHAMPHETAMINE …………………………………. $               0 
$ 50,000 

 
 
VEHICLE 
CODE 

  

SECTION DESCRIPTION OF VIOLATION AMOUNT OF BAIL 

2800.2 EVADING A PEACE OFFICER: 
 

 RECKLESS DRIVING…………………………………… $ 100,000 

2800.3(a) EVADING WITH BODILY INJURY…………………….. $ 250,000 

2800.3(b) EVADING WITH DEATH……………………………….. $ 1,000,000 

20001 HIT-RUN DEATH………………………………………… $ 75,000 

23110(b) THROWING MISSILE OR SHOOTING AT VEHICLE 
 

 WITH INTENT TO DO GREAT BODILY INJURY……. $ 50,000 

23152 DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE and 3+PRIORS. $ 50,000 

23153 DUI WITH INJURIES……………………………………. $ 50,000 
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PART 4: BAIL AMOUNTS FOR ENHANCEMENTS TO FELONIES 
 

THESE ARE CUMULATIVE 
 

SECTION DESCRIPTION OF VIOLATION ADDITIONAL AMOUNT 
 

PC 667 PRIOR CONVICTIONS 
(a) Prior serious felony plus a current serious 

felony [for each prior]…………………………. $ 50,000 

(c)  habitual criminal (Strike 1) (See Rule 5(B).. $ 50,000 

PC 667.5 STATE PRISON PRIORS 

(a) Prior violent felony plus a current violent 
 felony [for each prior]………………………... $ 20,000 

(b) on any felony [for each prior]……………….. 
 

$               0 
$ 20,000 

PC 12022.1 OUT ON BAIL ……………………………………. $ 20,000 

PC 12022.5 COMMISSION OF FELONY AND 
(a) uses a firearm………………………………… 

 
$ 75,000 

 
(b) uses an assault weapon…………………….. $ 100,000 

PC 12022.53 COMMISSION OF SPECIFIED FELON AND 
(b) uses a firearm………………………………… 

 
$ 75,000 

 
(c) discharges a firearm…………………………. $ 100,000 

 
(d) discharges a firearm and causes great bodily 

injury…………………………………… 

 
$ 1,000,000 

PC 12022.7 INFLICTION OF GBI…………………………….. $ 40,000 

PC 12022.8 GBI WHILE COMMITTING A SEXUAL  
    

OFFENSE……………………………………. $ 50,000 

 
H&S 11370.2 

 
PRIOR FELONY DRUG CONVICTIONS……… 

 
   $                0 each 
   $       20,000 each 

H&S 
11379.7(a) 

 
CHILDREN PRESENT AT METH LAB……… 

 
$ 20,000 each 

H&S 
11379.7(b) 

 
CHILDREN PRESENT AT METH LAB WHO 

 

 SUFFER GBI…………………………………. $ 30,000 each 
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SECTION B: MISDEMEANOR BAIL SCHEDULE 
 

If the defendant is charged with more than one offense, the highest bail amount on any 
single offense charged shall be used. This is per case. Bail on separate cases is 
cumulative. See Rule 4 on page 5 of the Felony section. The reasoning of Rule 4 
applies also to misdemeanors. 

 
Adjustments to the scheduled bail amounts are within the discretion of each judge, 
taking into account the defendant’s prior record, including, but not limited to, additional 
pending warrants, failures to appear in court, violation of probation, and the nature of 
the instant offense. 

 

Misdemeanors – 90 day maximum incarceration……………………. $           0 
$    1,500 

Misdemeanors – 180 day maximum incarceration…………………… $           0 
$    2,500 

Misdemeanors – 270 day maximum incarceration ………………….. $           0 
$    3,500 

Misdemeanors – 364 day maximum incarceration…………………… $           0 
$    5,000 

Misdemeanors Violations of Probation………………………………… $           0 
$    5,000 

Ordinance Violations Not Listed………………………………………... $           0 
$       500 

 

PENAL CODE 
SECTION DESCRIPTION OF VIOLATION BAIL AMOUNT 

 

PC 192(c)(2)      Vehicular manslaughter……………………………….        $       7,500  

PC 243(e)(1)      Spousal Battery………………………………………..        $        5,000  

PC 243.4 Sexual Battery …………………………………………    $        5,000 

PC 273.5 Domestic Violence causing corporal 
injury…………………………………………………….    $         5,000 

 
PC 273.6 Violation of a Court Order if the detained person 

made threats to kill or harm, has engaged in 
violence against, or has gone to the residence or 
workplace of, the protected 
party………………..……………………………………    $        5,000 

 
PC 646.9 Stalking…………………………..……………………...   $         5,000  

PC 647.6(a)(2)     Annoying or Molesting Child Under 18………………    $         5,000  
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PC 417(a)(2)         Brandishing firearm…………………………………….   $        5,000 

 

VC 23152 DUI 
 

a) With 1 prior 
b) With 2+ priors 

$ 0 
$         3,500 
$         5,000 
$         7,500 

VC 23153 DUI 
a) With 1 prior 
b) With 2+ priors 

$ 7,000 
$ 10,000 
$ 15,000 

 
 

Adopted by the Judges of the Superior Court of California 
County of Riverside on March 27, 2020 

Effective Date: March 27, 2020 

 
Distribution: 
Each Judicial Officer Probation Dept. 
Each Deputy Court Executive Officer Pre-Trial Services 
Law Enforcement Agencies County Counsel 
Sheriff District Attorney 


