The nationally recognized Enhanced Collections Division serves the public by providing assistance in paying court ordered fines and fees. The debtor completes a Financial Affidavit to assist in scheduling monthly payments to satisfy the court order. Collection Officers are professional and demonstrate sound communication in every financial assessment.
Monday - Friday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Enhanced Collections Locations
You may pay by cash, credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover), debit card with a Visa or MC logo, cashier's check, money order, personal check, or by Western Union Quick Collect.
Note: Fees may apply. Payments can be made in person, online, by mail, or by phone.
Payments can be made at any Riverside Court location that is open to the public at the public service window. Some locations provide a payment drop box.
If your case has been forwarded to Court Ordered Debt Collections (COD) please call 1.916.845.4064.
If your case has been forwarded to Linebarger and Associates (LGBS) please call 1.877.243.9576
Payments can be mailed to:
In order to receive proper credit to your account, please include your case number on the check or money order.
Please do not mail cash.
NOTE: Any returned check will result in a $63.00 returned check fee.
Please call 951.222.0384 (phone) with a debit or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover). Be sure to have your case number when calling.
MoneyGram has two convenient options for individuals to pay traffic and criminal fines:
Go to any Western Union (external site ) location. The code city is: LemonStreet and the state code is CA. Make payable to Superior Court of California, County of Riverside. To ensure proper credit, please put your case number on the account line. The code city, code state, case number and who it's payable to are required to make payment by Western Union. Fees will apply.
You may pay your monthly traffic citation (ticket) and/or criminal fine payment with a credit card. To pay online visit ePay-It.
Payments must be received by the due date each month. Contact the Enhanced Collections Division if you are having difficulties meeting the due date.
Yes, if you include a self-addressed, stamped envelope along with your payment.
A $63.00 returned check fee will be assessed to the case and payment must be submitted within 15 days by cash, cashier’s check, money order, debit, or credit card.
Failure to pay court-ordered fines, fees, and assessments may result in the Enhanced Collections Division initiating a civil action. This may include, but not be limited to, property liens and wage garnishments.
Any delinquent balance may be reported to one or more credit reporting agencies. Furthermore, a civil assessment of up to $100 may be added pursuant to Penal Code section 1214.1. You may also be liable for additional cost/fees that may be incurred due to this action being taken.
If the court ordered you to pay fines, penalty assessments, or victim restitution, and you fail to make payments, the court may proceed with an Allegation of Violation of Probation hearing. If you fail to appear for that hearing, the court may issue a WARRANT for your arrest.
Failure to pay your court-ordered fine, fee, or penalty assessment could result in collection through garnishment of wages, liens on property, and the possibility of your case being referred to an outside agency for collection pursuant to California state Government Code sections 12419.8 and 12419.10.
Your case may be submitted to the California Franchise Tax Board if you fail to pay your court-ordered debt(s). The court will intercept your state tax refund and/or state lottery winnings to pay any outstanding balance you owe to the court.
If you receive a letter stating Allegation of Violation of Probation, you must appear at the scheduled hearing date and time or the court may issue a WARRANT for your arrest. To avoid a court appearance, you must submit PAYMENT IN FULL. Failure to do so will result in a mandatory court appearance.
When paying your case after the Allegation of Violation of Probation process has been initiated, you must pay in full by way of cash, credit card, or a cashier’s check. No personal checks or money orders will be accepted. You must submit payment in full a minimum of 3 days prior to the court hearing date on the letter.
Payment must be received at least three working days before your scheduled hearing date. To submit payment in full contact the Enhanced Collections Division at 1.877.955.3463.
If your case qualifies and you meet income guidelines, you may be eligible for the Sheriff’s Labor Program or community service.
You must update your address and phone number with the Enhanced Collections Division via phone or in person.
On cases where you have received a letter or statement from the Enhanced Collections Division, you can opt-in to receive a reminder notice via text and/or email within 5 days of payment due date.
If the Court ordered you to pay victim restitution as a term of your probation, California Penal Code section 1202.4(5) states that because you were ordered to pay restitution you must complete and file a financial statement based on your financial status as of the date of your arrest. This statement must list all your assets, income, and liabilities including any that you may have claim for in the future.
Please complete the Defendant's Statement of Assets (external site pdf ).
If the judge ordered you to pay victim restitution, you may be contacted by the Probation Department for further information.
Please contact the Probation Department.
You may make your payment online via Epay-It (external site ) with a credit or debit card, use a credit card over the phone, mail in a check, or go to any Riverside County Court location that is open to the public. If you are unable to make payment in full, please call or visit one of the Enhanced Collections locations to set payment arrangements. Do not mail cash payments.
No, restitution fines and orders can be pursued until they are paid in full.
Penal Code section 1202.4(m) and Penal Code section 1214, ("Until the obligation is satisfied"). The Penal Code section 1214 ten-year limit does not apply to restitution.
The following are some actions the court can take, but is not limited to:
For other ways of paying please see topic 'How Can I Pay.'(above)
Enhanced Collections will make every effort to obtain the defendant's compliance, however, payment cannot be guaranteed. You may seek information about how to collect on your own by either visiting the Self Help Small Claims page, calling the small claims advisor at (Riverside): 951-274-4499; (Desert Region): 760-393-2163 or by e-mailing the advisor.
You may also meet with the small claims advisor in person. View dates, check times, and locations. (pdf )
Court warrants (checks) will be issued to you as payments are received from the defendant.
When a payment is received by the defendant, the payment will be spilt (if multiple victims) and sent to the victims involved in the case requesting restitution.
If monies are received from the defendant in the form of a personal check, payment is held in trust for 30 days until the check has cleared the bank.
If you still have not received payment one of the following may have occurred:
Contact the Enhanced Collections Division.
Any case that has a past due "Date to Pay" in the court’s case management system, may be submitted to the Franchise Tax Board.
Pursuant to California State Government Code sections 12419.8 and 12419.10, your name may be submitted to the California Franchise Tax Board if you fail to pay your court-ordered debt(s).
The court will intercept your state tax refund and/or state lottery winnings to pay any outstanding balance you owe to the court.
A failure to pay warrant may still be outstanding and you will need to make a court appearance, as scheduled by the court, for any balance that is assessed from that warrant.
If your case has been paid in full and your refund has been intercepted, and you do not have any other outstanding debt to the Riverside Superior Court, a refund check will be issued to you in approximately 10 to 12 weeks from the date of the letter that you received from the Franchise Tax Board.
It takes 4 to 8 weeks for the Riverside Superior Court to receive the intercepted taxes from the Franchise Tax Board, 1 to 2 weeks for the court to process the check received from the Franchise Tax Board, and 1 to 2 weeks for the overpayment check to be sent to you.
To assist in getting your refund check faster, please verify your mailing address with the Court location where you were sentenced.
If your taxes were intercepted and nobody on your tax return owes money to the Riverside Superior Court, contact the court where you were sentenced and they will research why your taxes were intercepted.
If you believe your California State Income Taxes have been intercepted in error, contact the Enhanced Collections Division via phone or in office at any of our court locations. To better assist you and expedite the process, please be prepared with a copy of the following: Tax Intercept letter from the Franchise Tax Board, Driver’s License, Social Security card, and completed copy of the Refund Request – Errant Tax Intercept form.
The reference number on the Franchise Tax Board letter is only a reference number for the court. The case number on the letter may be for an older case than the one on which you owe. The amount intercepted will be applied to the case(s) on which monies are owed.
The court will apply any amount over what is owed on the case to any other open case(s) for the defendant. If all cases are paid in full and not in warrant status then the overage will be refunded to you.
When contacting the court please have your case number and the letter you received from the Franchise Tax Board in hand.
Court-ordered fines, fees, and assessments are NOT eligible for discharge.
Any fines, fees, and restitution imposed by the court are still enforced as outlined in Title 11 of the USCS, § 523, "Exceptions to discharge" (a) (6), (7), (9), and (13). These codes state in part, “ . . . to the extent debt is for a fine, penalty, forfeiture payable to and for the benefit of a governmental unit, and is not compensation for actual pecuniary (commercial) loss, other than a tax penalty."
If your case qualifies and you meet income guidelines, you may be eligible to serve time in lieu of paying a fine. Court fees and restitution ARE NOT eligible and must be paid.
Depending on the court order, the fines and fees may still be due and payable.
If you have a warrant on a misdemeanor or felony case, you may be able to have an attorney appear on your behalf, unless otherwise advised by an attorney or the Court.